National Library of New Zealand
Harvested by the National Library of New Zealand on: Mar 4 2018 at 6:05:58 GMT
Search boxes and external links may not function. Having trouble viewing this page? Click here
Close Minimize Help
Wayback Machine

Trustees and Advisory Board members

This page has biographies for each of the Trustees and Advisory Board members of the Christchurch Earthquake Appeal Trust. For more information about the structure and responsibilities of the Trust, you can read more about the Trust here.


The Christchurch Earthquake Appeal Trust has three trustees. The trustees are responsible for the allocation of Appeal funds to support earthquake recovery initiatives. They are:

The Secretary for Internal Affairs and the Secretary to the Treasury are positions held by the chief executives of those government departments, and are not political appointments.

Colin MacDonald, Chief Executive of Internal AffairsColin MacDonald

Colin MacDonald is Chief Executive, Secretary for Internal Affairs, Secretary for Local Government and Government Chief Information Officer. He commenced the role 16 April 2012. Before that, Colin was Chief Executive of Land Information New Zealand. Colin has more than 30 years experience in information technology and general management in both New Zealand and United Kingdom and was previously Deputy Commissioner Business Development and Systems at Inland Revenue and Chief Operating Officer for the ANZ Banking Group (NZ). The Department of Internal Affairs provides administrative support to the Christchurch Earthquake Appeal Trust. As Trustee, Colin acts independently under the Trust Deed. 

Dr Rod Carr, Vice-Chancellor of the University of CanterburyDr Rod Carr

Prior to his appointment as Vice-Chancellor, Dr Rod Carr was managing director of Jade Software Corporation Ltd. His distinguished career in the banking sector has included holding the position of Acting Governor of the Reserve Bank of New Zealand and Senior Executive at the National Australia Bank in Melbourne, Australia. He is a Fellow of the New Zealand Institute of Management, holds directorships of several private and public companies and is now the chair of the Reserve Bank. 


Gabriel Makhlouf, Secretary to the TreasuryGabriel Makhlouf

Gabriel (Gabs) Makhlouf was appointed to the position of Secretary to The Treasury in June 2011. In this role, Gabs is Chief Executive of one of the key central agencies of the New Zealand Government, and operates as its chief economic, financial and regulatory advisor. He arrived in New Zealand from the United Kingdom in March 2010 to join the Treasury as Deputy Chief Executive. His career in the UK included positions at HM Revenue & Customs, HM Treasury and the Inland Revenue. He has chaired the world’s main tax-ruling body at the OECD and was Principal Private Secretary to the UK Chancellor of the Exchequer, Gordon Brown.

Advisory Board

The Trustees appointed an Advisory Board of community representatives to provide the Trustees with additional local perspective and advice on specific proposals. The Advisory Board had its last meeting on the 12th of March 2014.

The Advisory Board members were:

Jane Huria (Advisory Board Chair)Jane Huria

Jane Huria is Ngai Tahu and affiliates to Ngai Tuahuriri. Jane holds directorships in a number of public and private sector organisations, including Board Member, Accident Compensation Corporation; Chair, He Oranga Pounamu; Deputy Electoral Commissioner; Trustee, Winter Games (New Zealand); Trustee, Court Theatre; Lay Member, Health Practitioners’ Disciplinary Tribunal; Director, HSR Governance Limited. Jane is also is a member of the Red Cross 2011 Earthquake Appeal Commission and a patron of the University of Canterbury Foundation.

Ros BurdonRos Burdon

Ros Burdon is a benefactor and patron of the arts and recognised as one of Christchurch’s most influential figures in the arts world. In 2002, Ros was made a Companion to the New Zealand Order of Merit for services to arts and the community.


David CloseDavid Close

David Close, an eastern-suburbs resident, was a member of the Christchurch City Council from 1977 to 2001. He is a former staff member of Christchurch Boys’ High School. He is also a trustee of the Hamlin Trust NZ, which supports an ongoing project to assist women in Ethiopia who suffer from horrific birth injuries.

Justin MurrayJustin Murray

Justin Murray is Managing Director of Murray & Co., an independent investment bank based in Christchurch. Justin is also a Crown-appointed Director of Christchurch International Airport, is a Fellow of the Board of Governors of Christ’s College and is a member of the Institute of Finance Professionals.

Tane NortonTane Norton

Rangitane Will “Tane” Norton was born in Waikari, Canterbury and is a former All Black captain. He is a Board Member of the Charitable Trust for Critical Rugby Injuries. In 2006, Norton was made a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the annual New Zealand Honours List.

Pamela RichardsonPamela Richardson

Pamela Richardson, of Akaroa, received the Insignia of a Member of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2010 for services to conservation and the community. She was involved with the Canterbury Community Trust for many years, has been a trustee of the North Canterbury Rural Support Trust, and is the chair of the Akaroa-Wairewa Community Board.

Anthony RimellAnthony Rimell

Anthony Rimell is currently Pastor at Riccarton Baptist Church, in West Christchurch. Prior to this role, Anthony was Pastor of the Breezes Road Baptist Church in East Christchurch and closely involved in earthquake relief and recovery work in Avondale, Wainoni and Aranui.