National Library of New Zealand
Harvested by the National Library of New Zealand on: Oct 22 2017 at 7:00:50 GMT
Search boxes and external links may not function. Having trouble viewing this page? Click here
Close Minimize Help
Wayback Machine
The Department of Internal Affairs

ngā kaunihera-a-rohe

Local Government in New Zealand - Local Councils


Offshore islands

Offshore islands

The Minister of Local Government is the territorial authority for a number of offshore islands that are not included in the boundaries of an established local authority (see section 22 of the Local Government Act 2002). The Department of Internal Affairs provides administration on behalf of the Minister of Local Government.

The majority of offshore islands are located in the Bay of Plenty. The only island with a permanent population is Motiti Island. The other offshore islands with regular visitors include Tūhua/Mayor Island, Whakaari/White Island and Moutohorā/Whale Island.

You can find out more information about the offshore islands from the Department of Internal Affairs website at Offshore Islands.

Môtîtî IslandWhakaari/White IslandMayor (Tühua) IslandMoutohorâ (Whale) Island

Left to right: Motiti Island - Whakaari/White Island - Tūhua/Mayor Island - Moutohorā/Whale Island

File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon
File Attachment Icon