Bequests and Donations

Bequests and Donations are very effective ways of supporting the Alexander Turnbull Library. The generosity of donors has made a huge contribution to the growth in the Library since Alexander Turnbull’s original bequest of 55,000 books and other items.

The Library accepts gifts that meet the criteria for its acquisitions policies, such as items may be of historical value, including books, documents, paintings, drawings, family papers and photographs. Contact the curator of the relevant collection or the Turnbull’s Field Librarian, Diane Woods..

Financial bequests — made direct to the Alexander Turnbull Library Endowment Trust or to the Friends of the Turnbull Library — are used to support the Library’s work of collecting, preserving, and improving the dissemination of knowledge of New Zealand’s heritage.

The Friends of the Turnbull Library also seeks donations to assist in special projects. In 2006, members made generous contributions towards the cost of commissioning a bronze portrait of the late historian, Michael King, which was then presented to the Library. In 2007, donations were received to assist in the conservation of one of the oil paintings in the Drawings and Prints Collection.

Since 2008 the Friends of the Turnbull Library has been registered with the Charities Commission (registration number CC22660), confirming our eligibility to issue tax-deductible receipts for charitable donations.

The Alexander Turnbull Library Endowment Trust

The Endowment Trust supports the Turnbull´s work of collecting, preserving and making available New Zealand´s cultural heritage. The Trust manages the Lilburn Trust to foster and promote New Zealand music, the Jack Ilott Oral History Education Fund, and the Friends of the Turnbull Library Trust.

Financial bequests and donations for the Endowment Trust can help the Library to support and encourage research based on its collections as well as publication, conferences, seminars and lectures, and international exchanges among scholars. All gifts will be recorded and acknowledged.

The Endowment Trust is a charitable trust and contributions qualify for deductions under the Income Tax Act and the Estate and Gift Duties Act.

The Endowment Trust Board

Chair: Mr John Meads
Members: Ms Judith Fyfe, Professor Erik Olssen, Dr Brian Opie, Ms Suzanne Snively

Communications should be addressed to:
The Secretary
Alexander Turnbull Library Endowment Trust
PO Box 12-349
Wellington, NZ