National Library of New Zealand
Harvested by the National Library of New Zealand on: May 10 2016 at 7:05:45 GMT
Search boxes and external links may not function. Having trouble viewing this page? Click here
Close Minimize Help
Wayback Machine
You are here: Home Tribunals


Tribunals Unit - Ministry of Justice

Kia ora and welcome to the Tribunals home page

The Tribunals Unit of the Ministry of Justice provides administrative and registry support services to 28 tribunals, authorities and committees. It also provides other specialist services, including committee servicing and judicial support.

Tribunals, authorities and committees supported by the Ministry of Justice are expert forums for hearing and resolving disputes over facts and/or law.

Each body is established by legislation and the same legislation sets out its functions, powers and the extent of its authority, or jurisdiction.

The types of issues these bodies consider are extensive, for example:

  • disputes between individuals over a cost or service
  • complaints about the conduct of regulated professionals or departments
  • occupational licensing issues
  • tax and duty disputes
  • land valuation disputes.

Note: The Waitangi Tribunal is not supported by the Tribunals Unit. It has its own business unit to provide all the services it needs to operate.


Tribunals A-Z


Abortion Supervisory Committee

Accident Compensation Appeal Authority

Accident Compensation Appeals District Court Registry

Alcohol Regulatory and Licensing Authority

Birdlings Flat Land Title Commissioner

Copyright Tribunal

Criminal Justice Assistance Reimbursement Scheme

Customs Appeal Authority

Disputes Tribunal


Human Rights Review Tribunal

Immigration Advisers Complaints and Disciplinary Tribunal

Immigration and Protection Tribunal

International Education Appeal Authority


Land Valuation Tribunal

Lawyers and Conveyancers Disciplinary Tribunal

Legal Aid Tribunal

Legal Complaints Review Officer

Licensing Authority of Secondhand Dealers and Pawnbrokers

Motor Vehicle Disputes Tribunal


Private Security Personnel Licensing Authority

Real Estate Agents Disciplinary Tribunal

Review Authority

Social Security Appeal Authority

Student Allowance Appeal Authority

Taxation Review Authority

Tenancy Tribunal

Trans-Tasman Occupations Tribunal


Victims' Special Claims Tribunal

Waitangi Tribunal

Weathertight Homes Tribunal