National Library of New Zealand
Harvested by the National Library of New Zealand on: Apr 16 2016 at 8:16:02 GMT
Search boxes and external links may not function. Having trouble viewing this page? Click here
Close Minimize Help
Wayback Machine
The Department of Internal Affairs

The Department of Internal Affairs

Te Tari Taiwhenua

Building a safe, prosperous and respected nation


Our Ministers

Direct reports

The Department of Internal Affairs reports to six Ministerial portfolios or responsibility areas, seven separate Ministers and one Vote. Click on each name to view specific biographical information.

Hon Peter Dunne

  • Minister of Internal Affairs*

*The Internal Affairs portfolio includes responsibility for Archives New Zealand and the New Zealand National Library.

Rt Hon John Key

  • Minister Responsible for Ministerial Services

Hon Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga

  • Minister of Local Government

Hon Nathan Guy

  • Minister for Racing

Hon Peseta Sam Lotu-Iiga

  • Minister for Ethnic Communities

Hon Jo Goodhew

  • Minister for the Community and Voluntary Sector

Louise Upston

  • Associate Minister for Local Government

Responsibilities to other Ministers

The Department is responsible to the Minister of Finance, Hon Bill English in respect of community trusts (12 regional trusts that distribute resources to local communities from the proceeds of the sale of Trustee Banks) and to the Minister Foreign Affairs, Hon Murray McCully for the Peace and Disarmament Education Trust and the Pacific Development and Conservation Trust.

Briefings for Incoming Ministers

View Briefings for incoming ministers

Further information

View further information on the New Zealand Cabinet, including Ministerial speeches, media releases and policies (