National Library of New Zealand
Harvested by the National Library of New Zealand on: Apr 12 2015 at 2:58:31 GMT
Search boxes and external links may not function. Having trouble viewing this page? Click here
Close Minimize Help
Wayback Machine

Author Topic: Counseling in Christchurch  (Read 285 times)

Offline phoenixfruitbat

• ----
Counseling in Christchurch
« on: 01 Jan 13, 12:07:pm »
Hi all,

Firstly; Happy New Year!

So, I am new to gaynz and am only just starting to make my way put of the closet and I was wondering if anyone here knew of a good counsellor to see in Christchurch? I've seen a few (to talk about these new feelings etc) but haven't exactly had the best response from those I have seen so far :b . Any suggestions appreciated :)

Cheers,
Shan

Offline Mavis Branston

• Hardcore Boarder
Re: Counseling in Christchurch
« Reply #1 on: 01 Jan 13, 12:33:pm »
Go with your gut instinct and save the fees.

Offline Jim

• Addicted Boarder
  • breathe through the pain
« Reply #2 on: 01 Jan 13, 10:12:pm »
Try phone or online counselling via Outline http://www.outline.org.nz/ or 0800 OUTLINE
6pm - 9pm 7 days per week.

Or better yet go along to a newcomers support group if there is one. Some groups lost their venues with the quakes but there are still helping people. If you "Like" the Uprising Trust on Facebook you could ask which group would be best for you (age, gender etc). See
https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-UpRising-Trust/266593476710820

En Virtuales

« Reply #3 on: 04 Jan 13, 04:04:pm »
Go with your gut instinct and save the fees.

A little trite and overly generalised, Mavis.  Sometimes an individual's gut instinct, in all its various manifestations, is the very reason they come to counselling in the first place.

It may be clashing with something they feel they have to do, or should do, thereby creating distress, confusion or depression.