National Library of New Zealand
Harvested by the National Library of New Zealand on: Feb 5 2011 at 7:01:26 GMT
Search boxes and external links may not function. Having trouble viewing this page? Click here
Close Minimize Help
Wayback Machine
The Department of Internal Affairs

The Department of Internal Affairs

Te Tari Taiwhenua

Building a safe, prosperous and respected nation


Services › Daylight Saving

New Zealand Standard Time is currently defined in the Time Act 1974 as meaning the 12 hours in advance of Co-ordinated Universal Time. The Department of Internal Affairs administers the Act.

Daylight Saving commences on the last Sunday in September, when 2.00am becomes 3.00am, and ends on the first Sunday in April the following year, when 3.00am becomes 2.00am.

  • Daylight Saving began on Sunday 26 September 2010
  • Daylight Saving ends on Sunday 3 April 2011 (when clocks go back one hour)
  • It begins again on Sunday 25 September 2011 (when clocks go forward one hour)
For more information visit the About Daylight Saving page.

Daylight Saving Dates

In 2010, Daylight Saving begins on Sunday 26 September 2010.

20104 April26 September
20113 April25 September
20121 April30 September
20137 April29 September
20146 April28 September
20155 April27 September
20163 April25 September
20172 April24 September
20181 April30 September
20197 April29 September
20205 April27 September

These dates are calculated under the New Zealand Daylight Time Order 2007. Any changes to the Order will likely change these dates. You may wish to check closer to the time before relying on this information.