National Library of New Zealand
Harvested by the National Library of New Zealand on: Feb 5 2011 at 6:34:45 GMT
Search boxes and external links may not function. Having trouble viewing this page? Click here
Close Minimize Help
Wayback Machine
The Department of Internal Affairs

The Department of Internal Affairs

Te Tari Taiwhenua

Building a safe, prosperous and respected nation



Responsible Minister for the Department

The Minister of Internal Affairs is the responsible minister for the Department. The responsible minister oversees the Government's ownership interest in the Department, which encompasses its strategy, capability, integrity and financial performance.

The Minister exercises oversight through the performance agreement with the Secretary for Internal Affairs, who is the Department's Chief Executive.

Secretary for Internal Affairs

The Secretary reports to six Ministers covering nine Ministerial portfolios and responsibility areas and eight Votes. The Secretary for Internal Affairs is the Secretary for Local Government.

Crown entities, statutory bodies and trusts

The Department has an association with a range of Crown entities through its policy and Vote administration responsibilities. The Department also has an association with, and varying responsibilities for, many other statutory bodies and trusts. See: Crown entities and Statutory Bodies and Trusts