National Library of New Zealand
Harvested by the National Library of New Zealand on: Feb 5 2011 at 6:26:26 GMT
Search boxes and external links may not function. Having trouble viewing this page? Click here
Close Minimize Help
Wayback Machine
The Department of Internal Affairs

The Department of Internal Affairs

Te Tari Taiwhenua

Building a safe, prosperous and respected nation


Resource material › Our Policy Advice Areas › Appointments to the New Zealand Racing Board

Members of the New Zealand Racing Board

Effective from 18 October 2010

Michael Stiassny (independent chairperson) is a partner of KordaMentha. He has over 25 years’ experience in New Zealand and the United Kingdom in insolvency administration, reconstruction and litigation support. He has provided advice on mergers and acquisitions, and strategy and management, and is a director of several listed companies. He is currently chairman of Vector Ltd. Michael is a chartered accountant, and a barrister and solicitor. He is based in Auckland.

Warren Bell (independent member) is a former senior partner in chartered accountancy firm Deloitte, with considerable experience in corporate mergers and acquisitions, auditing, and company valuations. Warren has considerable directorship experience. He is currently the chairman of Hallenstein Glasson Holdings Ltd, and a director of several private companies and district council businesses. Warren was formerly the chairman of the Alto-Vertex group of companies and of PDL Holdings Ltd. He is based in Christchurch.

Liz Dawson (independent member) is a marketing consultant. She has over 15 year’s experience in professional sports administration and marketing in New Zealand and Australia, including roles with the New Zealand Rugby Union, the Auckland Warriors, and the Hurricanes. She also has significant retail marketing experience. She also has experience at board level in greyhound racing on both sides of the Tasman. Liz was responsible for the marketing and public relations for the successful Rugby World Cup 2011 bid. She is based in Wellington.

Thayne Green (greyhound racing nominee) has widespread racing administration experience and ownership in all three racing codes. He has represented the greyhound code on the Racing Industry Board, the Racing Authority and the TAB, and is a former President of the Auckland Greyhound Racing Club. Previously he held various positions in the hospitality, motor and transport industries. Thayne is now retired and based in Auckland.

Alan Jackson (thoroughbred racing nominee) recently retired from The Boston Consulting Group, having served in global leadership positions. He has over 25 years’ experience in business strategy, performance improvement, growth and organisational effectiveness. His clients have included some of the largest international companies in the agricultural, resources, industrial and consumer industries, and have also included sporting, racing and wagering organisations. Alan has thoroughbred racing and breeding interests on both sides of the Tasman. He is based in Auckland.

Simon Moutter (independent member) is the chief executive of Auckland International Airport Ltd. He was previously the chief operating officer at Telecom. He has also served as a director of Energy Brokers NZ and as a council member of the Electricity Supply Association of NZ. He has extensive business and managerial experience. He is based in Auckland.

Ray O’Connor (harness racing nominee) is a chartered accountant. As part of his accountancy practice, he advises clients on appropriate business structures. Ray has significant experience in racing administration. He is a current board member and treasurer of Harness Racing New Zealand, and chairman of Cambridge Raceway Ltd. Ray is a member of the committee and a former president of the Cambridge-Te Awamutu Harness Racing Club. He is based in Cambridge.

Return to Racing Policy information