National Library of New Zealand
Harvested by the National Library of New Zealand on: May 4 2009 at 23:46:25 GMT
Search boxes and external links may not function. Having trouble viewing this page? Click here
Close Minimize Help
Wayback Machine



One unitary Auckland Council to replace the region’s eight local authorities.

An elected mayor with governance powers will preside over the council.

The council will have 20 elected members - 12 elected from wards and 8 elected at large


The new council will have all the responsibilities and powers held by the current local authorities and will take over their assets.

A new single region-wide Auckland Council will be able to provide decisive leadership, as well as effective region-wide long-term planning and infrastructure investment.

Region-wide network services, including the arterial road network, water collection and supply, and wastewater treatment will be the responsibility of the Auckland Council.

The council will employ one chief executive, who will employ all other council staff.

Māori representation will be addressed by the provisions of the Local Electoral Act.


Submit a comment

required. will be published,
enter 'anonymous' if you do not wish
your name to be published

required. will not be published

Your comment will be submitted for approval and may appear on the site at a later date.