National Library of New Zealand
Harvested by the National Library of New Zealand on: May 4 2009 at 23:40:20 GMT
Search boxes and external links may not function. Having trouble viewing this page? Click here
Close Minimize Help
Wayback Machine

Government decisions

Summary of decisions

Current Situation
Government decisions
1 regional council
3 district councils
4 city councils
30 community boards (145 members)
1 Auckland Council
20 to 30 local boards (125 – 150 members)
1 chair elected by regional council
7 mayors elected at large, within cities and
1 regional mayor with governance powers
13 regional councillors
96 territorial authority councillors
145 community board members
20 councillors
125 – 150 local board members
Local Electoral Act provides for Maori
representation if there is community support
Local Electoral Act provides for Maori
representation if there is community support
8 Long-Term Council Community Plans (LTCCP –
a 10 year plan)
7 district plans 1 district plan
2 councils with plans governing waterfront and
1 Waterfront Development Agency
2 rates bills per property 1 rates bill
8 rating authorities 1 rating system
3-yearly terms for elections
3-yearly terms for elections
8 IT data systems  1 IT data system
8 local transport entities 1 regional transport authority*
8 water and wastewater providers 1 water and wastewater provider*
Limited alignment between central and local
government on improving social well-being
Government to find better ways of aligning central
and local government action on social well-being

*Agreed in principle. Detail yet to be confirmed by Government

 The Government has also made high-level decisions on how the Auckland region should deal with key issues. The decisions include:

  • One Long-term Council Community Plan (LTCCP) for Auckland that will be reflected in a land use plan and a regional infrastructure investment plan.
  • One Regional Transport Authority (RTA) responsible for all transport functions, including local roads.  The RTA will be established as a Council Controlled Organisation (CCO), accountable to the Auckland Council.
  • One Waterfront Development Agency (WDA), with scope for greater central government involvement in waterfront redevelopment. 
  • All regional assets, including museums, stadiums, parks, and entertainment and exhibition venues, to be transferred to Auckland Council.
  • One water and wastewater provider, using one volumetric pricing system.